LFC Data and Analytics Thread

New iteration of an old thread. I’ve been doing some tinkering with machine learning in Python and generated a very basic prediction graph of our League goals scored since the start of last season (orange actual, blue predicted) and how many we’re predicted to score in the future (grey). Hey, if we score two goals a game moving forward, that’s solid (provided we keep our “run” of clean sheets going).

1 Like

Can you throw some light on what parameters have you considered for the prediction, mate? Also for the orange graph, have you considered the data before these games? Would love to understand how this has been arrived at.

Think there will be just too many attributes to be considered and perhaps there are only some which becomes relevant?

1 Like

Thanks for inquiring! I am pretty new at machine learning so definitely don’t have all the answers, and always open for feedback.

Where the data came from: This is literally just running an ARIMA (AutoRegressive Integrated Moving Average) model that was run on our “goals for” tally in each Premier League game for 2019-20 (orange line). The model then establishes predictions (blue line) based on the average. The real thing to pay attention to is the blue line within the grey area: this is the “forecast.” Perhaps I didn’t specify well enough earlier when I said the forecast was grey — in actuality, it’s the blue line within the grey, while the grey is the 95% confidence interval, meaning that the values should fall within that range with 95% confidence.