The History Thread

Shall we have a history thread then??

Seems there is an appetite for discussing the days of yore…

As some of you will remember, I have a postgraduate history degree. I worked on fifteenth-century Florentine/papal relations, would describe myself as someone focused on the intersection of culture and religion…

Ergo, I like history. If I had my time again (would I do a PhD?? hahaha) I would study late-antique Christianity, I reckon, the transition from (Roman) emperors to popes…

What old shit turns you on??

(other than @cynicaloldgit, that is…)

14 Likes

I like history. But only in last 100 years. Anything older gives me fuzzy-head.

2 Likes

Can we merge this with the United thread?

13 Likes

Great.

Derailed already…

This is why we can’t have nice things.

13 Likes

I also find the American Revolutionary War very interesting, but I am a complete novice on that topic.

2 Likes

A lot of younger people ask why the study of history is relevant. The answer I give them is simple: human nature never changes.

4 Likes

18th century:

The century of Goethe, Blake, Montesquieu, Voltaire, Rousseau, Bach, Händel, Haydn, Mozart, Von Humboldt, Condorcet, Adam Smith, Jefferson, Franklin.

Emergence of humanism and enlightenment, church starting to lose its grip on society, huge discoveries and scientific/technical/military progresses, the beginning of an increasingly moving world, culminating with the American and French revolutions.

Also, it’s the century during which seafaring reached it’s peak. Every sailing ship was a piece of art in itself, a huge technical and cultural effort. I’m a big fan of them.

So, what’s not to like about that ruthlessly cruel, destructive and yet highly creative century? :upside_down_face:

Also, I find the 15th century interesting, for the same reasons. It’s a time of renewal, change and discoveries, with the pictural arts starting to shine like a big star in the sky.